Administrative Review of Dean Boger

  • E-mail E-mail
  • Google+
  • Reddit Reddit

TO: Members of the UNC Faculty, Staff and Students

FROM: Provost Bruce Carney Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost

RE: Administrative Review of Jack Boger, Dean, School of Law

I am pleased to invite your participation in the review process on behalf of the committee appointed to review the performance of Jack Boger as Dean of the School of Law.

This review, required by University regulations, will focus on Jack Boger's performance as Dean of the School of Law over the past four years. The committee consists of Dean Steven Matson (Chair) Mr. David Brown, Professor Fitz Brundage, Professor Patricia Bryan, Ms. Julia Ellen Dixon, Professor Elizabeth Gibson, Professor Joan Krause, Professor Tim Marr and Professor Wes Wallace. As required by University regulations, this committee will review areas of accomplishment as Dean with respect to long-range planning, intellectual leadership, faculty and staff recruitment, retention and promotion, curriculum and program development, entrepreneurship, and the day-to-day management of the School of Law. The committee invites your comment on these and related issues. It is important for the committee to have some sense of how Dean Boger is viewed by his peers at UNC-Chapel Hill as a colleague and citizen of the University community.

We encourage you to contribute to this review in the following ways:

1. The committee has scheduled two open sessions to receive comments. These times are:

November 18 - 2:00-4:00 - 105 South Building

November 22 - 9:00-11:00 - 105 South Building

If you wish to meet with the committee, please contact Stephanie Thurman in the Office of the Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost ( or 962-4511), and she will schedule a specific time (usually about 10-15 minutes) within that time period. Note that while all comments during these sessions will be kept strictly confidential, a master list of attendees will be kept as part of Dean Boger's personnel file. All requests must be received no later than November 15, 2010.

2. You may contribute to this review by providing written comments to the Chair. The review committee will treat your comments as strictly confidential. However, by law, all written communication with any committee member, whether on paper or by email, becomes a confidential part of Dean Boger's personnel file and as such, is open to examination by him. Oral communication (by telephone or in person) and the committee's notes generated from these conversations do not become part of Dean Boger's personnel file. If you wish to provide oral comments, please contact the Chair or any member of the committee. University regulations prohibit consideration of anonymous letters in the review process.

All written comments should be sent to: Dr. Steven Matson c/o Debbie Stevenson, 104 South Building, CB # 3000, or by emailing

3. You may telephone or meet privately in person with committee members. Oral communications (by telephone or in person) and the committee's notes generated from these conversations do not become part of Dean Boger's personnel file but may be reflected in the committee's report without identifiers.

The deadline for receiving comments is December 1, 2010.

Thank you very much for your help in this important task.

This email is sponsored by: Office of the Executive Vice Chancellor

Posted by Rachel R. Hall on Fri. November 5, 2010 3:52 PM
Categories: Administration, Law School

Comments for this post are now closed.

UNC School of Law | Van Hecke-Wettach Hall | 160 Ridge Road, CB #3380 | Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3380 | 919.962.5106

If you are seeing this, you are either using a non-graphical browser or Netscape 4.x (4.7, 4.8, etc.) and this page appears very plain. If you are using a 4.x version of Netscape, this site is fully functional but lacks styles and optimizations available in other browsers. For full functionality, please upgrade your browser to the latest version of Internet Explorer or Firefox.