The Winston Crisp Award for Student Leadership - Nominations DUE by 5:00 PM on 4/1

  • E-mail E-mail
  • Google+
  • Reddit Reddit
Winston B. Crisp, J.D.
(Vice Chancellor of Student Affairs)

Purpose: The Winston Crisp Award was initiated by the Student Bar Association during the 2005-2006 school year to recognize excellence in student leadership. Dean Crisp served the law school as Associate Dean of Student Services for 13 years. Dean Crisp demonstrated extraordinary leadership ability throughout his time at UNC Law, both as a student and as an administrator. The Crisp Award seeks to recognize students who exemplify the same outstanding leadership.

Eligibility: Students in all classes are eligible to be nominated for the Crisp Award. Nominated students need not hold an executive board position within their affiliated organizations. Members of the SBA Executive Committee (President, Vice President, Secretary, and Treasurer) are not eligible for nomination.

Selection Process: Nominations should include a description of the nominee's leadership abilities. Examples of excellent leadership include outstanding coordination of student projects, effective decision making skills and exceptional willingness to assist fellow members of the law school community. Nominations will be judged by a panel consisting of the following students, staff, and faculty:

  • Crystal Boni (SBA Treasurer, SBA President-Elect),
  • S. David Brown (SBA President),
  • Lace Wayman (2L Class President),
  • John Kasprzak (Director of Student Services),
  • Dorsey Ballard (Student Services Coordinator), and
  • Richard Myers (Associate Dean for Student Affairs).

Recognition: The winner of the Crisp Award will be formally recognized on April 13th, 2011, at 11:30 AM during the Public Interest/Pro Bono Reception.

Deadline: All nominations for the Crisp Award must be submitted by 5:00 PM Friday, April 1st, 2011. These may be submitted by email or by leaving a print copy in Crystal Boni's (2L) mail file. Email submissions are preferred.

Questions: Please email questions for the committee to


Posted by Stephen D. Brown (David) on Tue. March 22, 2011 2:33 PM
Categories: Academics, Law School, SBA

Comments for this post are now closed.

UNC School of Law | Van Hecke-Wettach Hall | 160 Ridge Road, CB #3380 | Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3380 | 919.962.5106

If you are seeing this, you are either using a non-graphical browser or Netscape 4.x (4.7, 4.8, etc.) and this page appears very plain. If you are using a 4.x version of Netscape, this site is fully functional but lacks styles and optimizations available in other browsers. For full functionality, please upgrade your browser to the latest version of Internet Explorer or Firefox.